The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Table hoppers & party strollers :: First Magic Performance at Friends Wedding: Seeking Advice (9 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
 Go to page 1~2 [Next]
SNAFU
View Profile
New user
19 Posts

Profile of SNAFU
Hello everyone!
I've been performing magic as a hobby for two years, mainly for friends and colleagues. Now, a couple who are friends of mine are getting married in September, and since they love magic, they've asked me to perform at their wedding. Initially, I politely declined because I was nervous and also worried that they might be asking just to be nice. However, after they asked me again earnestly, I felt I couldn't really say no, thinking it was important to the bride. I agreed to think of something, and they haven't given me any specific instructions on how to perform.

The wedding will be a casual affair with about 75 guests, and the couple is in their mid-thirties. Sitting here, having never done a real performance, I'm unsure about what to do. I've ordered the Anniversary Waltz, which seems perfect for the occasion after some research here. I'm not up for a big "show," that's a bit too intense for me. I could imagine doing some close-up magic for smaller groups. I think I have enough tricks for 2-3 sets of 3 tricks each. I need to polish my presentation, but there's still time. My biggest issue is approaching groups to perform; I always feel like I'm intruding or imposing. Does anyone have any tips for me?
Dannydoyle
View Profile
Eternal Order
21275 Posts

Profile of Dannydoyle
Your first instinct was correct. September is 15 minutes away. The only way your presentation will get better is by working for RSI audiences a LOT between now and then.