The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: New to magic? :: Am I pass beginner yet? (20 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
 Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
Hudson52Sleights
View Profile
New user
Australia, Brisbane
23 Posts

Profile of Hudson52Sleights
I've been doing magic for 2 1/2 years as a kid (12yrs old now) and am wondering if I am pass* beginner yet for card magic. I can do well the classic pass, The hermanns pass, the spread cull, the overhand shuffle control, false cuts (I'm learning the undo cut now by Andi Gladwin!),slip cuts, gamblers cop and all the basic sleight of hand. I am currently working on my zarrow shuffle and second deal. Do you think I'm passed beginner yet?
Thanks,
Hudson

*not the move, lol.
bentpenny
View Profile
Loyal user
204 Posts

Profile of bentpenny
I'd say you're still a beginner magician because you seem to be very focused on your card techniques (which is a great thing). However, card techniques alone do not create magic. You need to take the tools you've developed and create magic with them. Otherwise you're just a card mechanic. Creating a magical effect requires a different skill set and you should be honing that skill set along side your card techniques.

Check out this interview. It has some great things to think about. The entire video is quite interesting and in particular his discussion around the 4:27 time touches on what I wrote above.
Hudson52Sleights
View Profile
New user
Australia, Brisbane
23 Posts

So to turn into a better magician I have to work on my presentation and make my magic as powerful as possible?
bentpenny
View Profile
Loyal user
204 Posts

Profile of bentpenny