The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Shuffled not Stirred :: Memorized deck effects without technical sleights (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
 Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Sanderr
View Profile
Loyal user
Netherlands
201 Posts

Profile of Sanderr
A few weeks ago I started learning the Mnemonica stack. Although I have improved a lot, I do not yet have instant recall. To practice the stack more, I thought it would help to practice in the context of some (relatively simple) effects. The issue is that I'm also not proficient with many sleights (currently working on some false shuffles and a DL, and I can do some controls and a glimpse). There are a couple of books that seem interesting, but it's hard to tell how difficult the effects are in terms of sleights. I already have the Mnemonica book and I will do the divination routine to start practicing.

Which other books would you recommend that have some effects that are maybe mostly self-working when you know the stack? Books like In Order to Amaze (Pit Hartling), The Buena Vista Shuffle Club (Matt Baker) and Bound to Please (Simon Aronson) look interesting, would they be suitable?
Kjellstrom
View Profile
Inner circle
Sweden, Scandinavia, Europe
5204 Posts

Profile of Kjellstrom
Zen Master by Darwin Ortiz is a great one...
FlorianHeller
View Profile
Regular user
Bonn, Germany
200 Posts

Profile of FlorianHeller
If you want an effect that's mostly self working and makes you think on your feet with your stack, try an Invisible deck set up in Mnemonica Smile On top of making you not forget your stack, I do find it makes the effect better or at least easiest on you as you know exactly where the upside down card is, you don't have to look for it while spreading the deck.