The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: You are getting sleepy...very sleepy... :: Performance styles in stage hypnosis (4 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
adrianrbf
View Profile
Regular user
Switzerland
115 Posts

Profile of adrianrbf
I admit I have never seen a live hypnosis show and only few on TV or youtube... I am interested what different performance styles exist.

Short note about myself: I am an amateur magician; I have learnt the basics of hypnotherapy for coaching purposes; I know there are prejudices of hypnotherapists towards stage hypnosis and vice versa; I know there are people on the Café who do both. When learning hypnosis, I took the "get a good teacher AND a good book" approach. Since I am German speaking, you might not know the teacher nor the books, but the teacher is a renowoned psychiatrist and among the books is the German standard volume about hypnotherapy by Dirk Revenstorf and Burkhart Peter.

There is a cliché performance style for stage hypnosis: the powerful hypnotist makes the weak subjects do ridiculous things. Everybody is laughing, but it is a degrading laughter (is "deride" the correct English word?). The more ridiculous the subjects are, the better the show. Yes, I know (and I wrote) that this is a cliché. ;-)

However, how does a different performance style look like?

To put it more detailed:
How can hypnosis be introduced and framed, instead of the "I am the oh so powerful mind controller" approach?
What are entertaining hypnotic effects that do not make the subjects appear ridiculous?
Instead of making the volunteer forget something or unable to perform a task, are there ideas how to give superpowers to the hypnotee?

Are there any books which deal with theses questions?
Dannydoyle
View Profile
Eternal Order
21275 Posts

Profile of Dannydoyle
You have described a very old style. Yes some still use it but it is going away.