The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Smooth as silk :: Getting rid of egg in glass from Silk To Egg after the show (1 Like) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
John Vincelli
View Profile
New user
Montreal, QC
34 Posts

Profile of John Vincelli
I got booked for the first time since April at small venue.
I’ve been thinking of including Silk To Egg in my show, but I’ve never done it live before because of the ending with the egg yolk and shell in the glass at the end. So many questions. How do I get rid of it once I’m done? Do I leave it on the table until the end of the show? Once I get off stage, do I put it in a ziploc bag or dump it in a garbage at the venue? When do I clean it? At home? Venue bathroom? I’m so used to packing up quickly and ready to leave as soon as I get off stage.
John knows!
Bill Hegbli
View Profile
Eternal Order
Fort Wayne, Indiana
22797 Posts

Profile of Bill Hegbli
There use to be a trick called, "Egg in Paper Plus" way back when. I found that solution was perfect for "Silk to Egg". Before that solution, I use to go to the men's bathroom right after the show and dump the egg, not the shell into a toilet, and flush it. The shell I would wrap in paper towel and just put in the waste basket in the men's restroom. Don't forget to wash your hands.

Today's eggs all seem to have very thin shells, and if you hit them against something to crack them, they shatter into pieces. I found Eggs from the local dollar store have a little harder shells.

I always take some paper towels with me, in case I get egg all over my hands during performance. Wet wipes is a good idea as well.

A good trick that fits well with Egg in paper plus, is a simple newspaper tear. the gimmick fits in a newspaper and I just throw the bag with egg into the trash. Following the Silk to Egg, I perform the newspaper tear, then dump the egg into the newspaper, leave it until the end throw it into the trash.