The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: The clothes we wear :: Clothing (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
 Go to page 1~2 [Next]
David Nathan Magic
View Profile
New user
82 Posts

Profile of David Nathan Magic
Hi Guys!

I just turned 21 and I've been doing magic full time for a few years now.
Everything is going well and I've got steady bookings but I'm still working on who I am as a performer.
Now my problem is so much mixed messaging that I'm not sure what to do.
Very recently I have been thinking of putting together a new show that's really me, and I'm getting stuck at clothing...
I was thinking of starting out with a suit and saying something like "Ah, who am I kidding, I'm 21." then changing to something more contemporary.
Now on the other hand, when I'm wearing a fancy suit and use top notch props, the clients gets more perceived value.
I want to make some decent money with my shows and give the clients the feeling they get value for their money but I also like the idea of "just being a normal 21 year old".
I have trouble deciding between the two conflicting strategies. What would you advise?

Magical regards,
David
Bill Hegbli
View Profile
Eternal Order
Fort Wayne, Indiana
22797 Posts

Profile of Bill Hegbli
Clients don't want to know the prices you paid for your props. They could care less. They want you to deliver what they hired you for, and nothing else.

Rule of thumb for dressing for paid gigs. You are hired as the most important person to your client that will be at the party. So you dress according to the type of event.

You should be the best dressed person at the event, so people will know that you are important to the event.