The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Time after time :: I I am not enjoying practicing anymore. (24 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
 Go to page 1~2 [Next]
SamuelJonesMagic
View Profile
New user
25 Posts

Profile of SamuelJonesMagic
Hi everyone Smile
This is my first post and I don't really know if I'm posting this in the right place, but I need some advice from all you guys.
I'm 14 I have been doing magic for 6 years (or something like that) and I do not have the motivation to practice anymore. Not just that but I have over 200 magic books and for months now I do not have any desire to read them. I want this to be my job but I don't want to force myself to practice because there is no point doing it if I won't enjoy it.
Here are my reasons of why this could be happening:

.The magic club I went to closed down.
.I haven't got no magician friends to talk too.
.I am doing other fun things like planting and stuff and reading other books.

I do not wan't to stop doing magic.
I know the joy it can bring to me and other people, but I just need your advice.
Has this ever happened to you? How should I motivate myself to practice?
What do you recommend guys?
Thanks!!
55Hudson
View Profile
Special user
Minneapolis
984 Posts

Profile of 55Hudson
HI Samuel,
Welcome to the Café!

First, I wouldn't worry so much about practicing all the time. At your age, 14, you should have lots of different interests and experiences. Although you think you want to perform for a living, you may find something else you want to do for a living and keep magic as a hobby. Some of the greatest magicians had other jobs and magic was a hobby - John Ramsey is one, he was a pharmacists; Ascanio another, he's was a lawyer.