The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Notes from a Designer's Logbook - by George Ledo :: "It's all about the experience," Part II (1 Like) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
George Ledo
View Profile
Magic Café Columnist
SF Bay Area
3044 Posts

Profile of George Ledo
Last week, Donna and I were talking about my “Experience” column, and she suggested I write a bit about what we do in live theater, and maybe post some ideas as to what could be done to enhance the experience of a magic show. So here goes.

Again, my background is in stage magic, so that’s where my focus is going to be.

The establishing shot

In the movies, we often see a long shot of a city or town at the beginning, and frequently with a caption that says, “Los Angeles, 2014,” or something similar. That’s called an establishing shot and it’s intended to clue us in as to where and when the story takes place, in order to set up the context. Many times the shot zooms in on a house or a building before we cut to a character or scene to start the story itself. Those establishing shots are planned very carefully—the location, camera angle, time of day, weather (is it sunny, rainy, snowy, stormy?), and so forth—to set us up for what’s to come.