The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: For the record :: Ireland Magic Company ?? (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
donSatalic
View Profile
New user
1 Post

Profile of donSatalic
Hi,

I'm a writer working on a novel that involves magic and magicians in Chicago set in 1947. I was wondering if anyone here remembers visiting the Ireland Magic Shop at 109 North Dearborn, Chicago, IL. It was on the fourth floor of that building.

Thanks for anything that will help.

Don

P.S. My last novel "Return of the Falcon" is at Amazon.
Julie
View Profile
Inner circle
3876 Posts

Profile of Julie
Hello Don,

You might want to consult two vintage books by Frances Ireland (Marshall) entitled: With Frances In Magicland and You Don't Have To Be Crazy.

Julie
Anatole
View Profile
Inner circle
1913 Posts

Profile of Anatole
There's a bit of history at:
http://www.magicinc.net/about-us.aspx
If you use any of their email, phone, or snail mail info at
http://www.magicinc.net/contact-us.aspx
I would guess that they will be able to help you.
The brief history at the "About Us" site says: "Begun as the Ireland Magic Company, founded by Laurie L. Ireland in 1926, Magic Inc., located in Chicago, was incorporated in 1963 by Jay Marshall and Frances Ireland Marshall."

----- Sonny
----- Sonny Narvaez
Tom Jorgenson
View Profile
Inner circle
LOOSE ANGLES, CALIFORNIA
4451 Posts

Profile of Tom Jorgenson
I was there many times, I bought my copy of Greater Magic there, for $12, I was taking art classes at the Institute and would skip boring classes to visit Ireland's.
We dance an invisible dance to music they cannot hear.
GS121002
View Profile
Veteran user
but he still can't help build a border wall with only
313 Posts

Profile of GS121002