The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Ballooning 101 :: Any balloon-tying advice for an absolute neophyte ? :: TOPIC IS LOCKED (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
Turk
View Profile
Inner circle
Portland, OR
3546 Posts

Profile of Turk
Hello, All.

As a strict absolute beginner when it comes to tying balloons, (I seem to recall, on a lark, maybe tying a poodle dog or a sword about 15-20 years ago...or, in another life), I see all of these balloon sculptures being made by Dylan Gelinas, Christopher Lyle, David Brenion and others, and, other than being in a state of absolute awe,... a few questions immediately spring to mind, to-wit:

1. Are these balloon sculptures things that are made on-the fly in front of the person that will be given these types of balloon items, or, are they pre-made in advance and then brought to the event? Or both? (I'm looking at the Mickey Mouse Sorcerer's Apprentice as I ask this question.)

2. How long does it take to learn to be able to proficiently tie such balloon sculptures? (See, I told you I was an absolute neophyte when it comes to balloons.)

3. How complicated is it to begin to get down a good 10-20 basic balloon animal item repertoire for use by a table-hopping strolling magician? Is each twist and turn soooo complicated that a person with short-term memory (...What were we talking about?) should not even consider getting into the craft? Are we talking years and years? Months and months? What? In this regard, are a lot of the twists, "tricks" and techniques "generic"? (i.e., utilized over and over again in many of the various balloon animals and balloon sculptures?

4. What balloon DVDs (and books) would you recommend for a balloon neophyte?

See, I told you that I was a absolute beginner when it came to balloon tying.

Thanks for any info in these regards.

Mike