The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: The tricks are on me! :: Magic and mental health (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
Ikswonilak
View Profile
New user
58 Posts

Profile of Ikswonilak
I'm curious to hear from folks who have experience performing magic for persons with mental illness. I am a primary care physician with a special interest in this patient population and am trying to put together a small show to bring to group homes where my patients live and share the world of live magic with them.

I think there are very special considerations that need to be kept in mind, so to speak, with both effects chosen and scripting/staging but I love this challenge and think there is much to be learned just by going through this process.

Cheers.
AK
Siraldi
View Profile
Regular user
Johnson City, Tennessee
102 Posts

Profile of Siraldi
I think this is wonderful! Would you mind telling us some plots or themes you are considering... or ones you want to stay away from?
jugglestruck
View Profile
Inner circle
Wales
1038 Posts

Profile of jugglestruck
I too would be interested in what you decide on and how it goes down. When you say they have mental illness, how severe or not is it?
Ikswonilak
View Profile
New user
58 Posts

Profile of Ikswonilak
The folks I work with tend to fall into the category of having "severe mental illness" meaning schizophrenia, severe depression/bipolar, etc.