The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Where to put it all... :: Any thoughts on this? (5 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
blsorg
View Profile
Regular user
Charleston WV
149 Posts

Profile of blsorg
Well, I've been performing now for many years. 33 to be exact.
I am to the point in my life where I'm very pleased with my performance and the reaction I get from my audiences. But here is my problem...

Currently I have to make two trips in to a performance location from my car (good and bad weather). I carry a microphone stand, amplifier, folding backdrop, small table and a large suitcase. Also my setup time is appx. half hour.

My biggest desire right now is to be able to arrive with only one or two items and be able to start my performance without hardly any setup. Honestly, I've really come to envy comedians that walk out on stage with little or no props!

Often I'm booked for conventions and dinners at hotels and have to setup in front of
the audience (which I really dislike). It's also uncomfortable to test my sound system in front of the crowd while they're eating (or worse yet have something going on). Testing 1 -2 -3!

Well I took a month off from shows and worked on a very simplified system. Now I will have to spend a lot more time at home (pre-show) getting everything just right and fixing it in my suitcase to not move around during transportation. In other words, I've transfered the amount of time I would spend arranging my props and setting up at the show to an earlier time at my home. Then I place a few items that barely fit in the suitcase to exert pressure on my props to keep them in their place and in proper order.

Last night came the big test...
It was a kids show sponsored by a local town's recreation dept... small crowd (not on a stage). maybe 50-60 including some parents.