The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Notes from a Designer's Logbook - by George Ledo :: Making props out of sheet foam (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
George Ledo
View Profile
Magic Café Columnist
SF Bay Area
3044 Posts

Profile of George Ledo
I don’t know how many of you have an occasion to make props out of sheet foam. However, over the past couple of weeks I’ve been making some foam props for a show, and, while it was on my mind, I decided to expand the section on foam in a book I’ve been working on for a couple of years. The book has nothing to do with magic: it’s about how to design and outfit a haunted house using professional theater and movie techniques on a household budget. Below is a slightly revised draft of the section on foam, and, at the end, are photos of one of the pieces I made.

Enjoy!

A discussion of sheet foams and their applications in the entertainment industry could take up an entire book. However, in this section I’ll summarize some of the main points, focusing on three types of foam that can be used to make props for a haunted house. These are Styrofoam, EPS, and foam rubber.

Although the word “styrofoam” has just about become a generic term for any rigid foam product, it is actually a registered trademark of the Dow Chemical Company, and applies only to the blue sheet foam insulation made by them. Styrofoam is available at home-improvement centers and is good for lightweight items that won’t see much handling, such as tombstones or display coffins. The material usually comes in 2x8 foot sheets, and in various thicknesses.