The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Do you see what I see? :: Some Thoughts.. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
MR2Guy
View Profile
Regular user
Nashville
179 Posts

Profile of MR2Guy
I studied the Art of Mime for several years, and performed for colleges, art galleries, and in the street. In a word, Mime is hard, and should be looked upon as an artform requiring dedication. As the subject says, some thoughts

Mime is the economy of motion, not the opposite. The smallest action can convey volumes. It is not contained in the face, but the body. During my training, masks were used to fast from facial expression, and force your body to emote your intent. There are a lot of "noisy" performers, body wise, and learning about your body, it's movements, and what it conveys is a very good discipline for all performers, and especially Magicians.

That said, it's very interesting that a lot, if not most rules that apply to performing Magic well apply equally to studying and performing the art of Mime:

Practice, practice, practice.
Do not use other's routines.
Technique is only a tool used to build a routine, not the routine itself.
You must work out inside yourself what you want to convey to an audience, and why.
Did I mention practice?
Most importantly, entertain your audience.

Another area that shares common ground with Magic is the misconception people have regarding the art form, thinking it's nonsense, and revel in delight putting it down. Why?

Audiences have rarely seen a great Mime perform, and have preconceived ideas fueled by ignorance, and stereotypical thinking.

They have only seen Mime performed badly, making it harder for a true Mime artist to find venues.

There are also some differences between the two art forms as well: