The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: The workshop :: How safe is your shop? (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
 Go to page 1~2 [Next]
gimpy2
View Profile
Special user
960 Posts

Profile of gimpy2
Hi Folks,

I must start by saying that nothing I write hear should be intended to discourage anybody from following the directions on your power tools regarding safety.

Yesterday I had my first kick back on a table saw in over 30 years. Lucky for me I had just shut the saw off and stepped away. The small piece I was cutting was left too close to the blade and pinched against the fence shooting it into the shop door. I must say that It caused me to take pause and examine my shop safety. I have over 40 years of experience and grew up on construction sites. Our tools were moved from job to job and the factory safety guards never lasted long. Got used to working without them. Seems like even in a stationary shop the guards on tools are the first thing to break. I have no guards on anything right now. Even the blade guard on my 12" miter saw is on the shelf after it wore out. Going to fix that today. Probably wont put any guards on anything else as they seem to be more hassle that help, just not used to them. I think what has kept me safe for years is knowing how tools work and understanding how bad things happen with tools. So although I don't use safety guards Like Im supposed to heres some things that I do to keep safe.

I don't wear jewelry of any kind. I keep the floor clean and free of anything that might trip me. I never use tools to do something its not intended to do. Unplug tools when working on them. don't wear clothing with strings. Have large selection of push sticks. don't cut material to length with a table saw fence. Use sharp blades. Throw away old extension cords. Wear safety glasses. Set your blade only high enough to cut thru the material.