The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Not very magical, still... :: Audio Misdirection (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
Scaro159
View Profile

0 Posts

Profile of Scaro159
Hi Folks

I'm new to the Cafe but a friend suggested that there might be some fine people here who can help me with a bit of research I’m trying to solve a slightly weird problem, and I'm not sure that this fits into any of the other subforums so I’m posting here (but please redirect me if necessary).

Lots of the magic literature talks about visual misdirection (a big move covering a small move, spectators following where the magician is looking etc) and in some cases a trick revolves around spectators not noticing things they would be literally looking at just because of timing or them disregarding movements that seem irrelevant. I'm interested in if anyone knows of any audio/sound equivalents.

By that I don’t mean saying someone's name to get them to look away, or sudden loud noises in the background, but more using one sound to cover up a different one. Obviously you can talk over a potentially noisy gimmick (e.g. the Raven clinking a little), but I'm more interested in using one sound to cover another's existence outside just being drowned out. While I know sound does have it's uses in many tricks (Miser's Dream) etc, it always seems to be on using sound as a convincer etc, rather than misdirection, and as a result, I cant seem to find all that much on the topic

Theories both personal and published, applications and uses, anything at all would be very appreciated.

Thanks

Scaro159
tommy
View Profile
Eternal Order
Devil's Island
16557 Posts

Profile of tommy
The Snap deal springs to mind: Lennart Green

https://www.youtube.com/watch?app=deskto......=Sego763

I was reading the other day about rattlesnakes: They can change the frequency of their rattle to sound closer or farther away than they are.