The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Tricky business :: Nonbinary magicians! (14 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
om_darji
View Profile
New user
South Orange County, CA
24 Posts

Profile of om_darji
Don't know where else to post on the Café, there isn't much discussion for LGBT+ magicians, especially nonbinary folk, on here. I'm a member of the AMA Juniors at the Magic Castle and am in touch with my fellow LGBTQ performers there, but the group is relatively small.

I've been performing as a hobbyist for 5-6 years now (I'm seventeen) and for the last year I've been doing it professionally, taking gigs and having a restaurant residency. I can't help but feel slighted when I see my fellow Juniors Society members who are straight, white, cis men get frequent gigs while I barely can get one every few months, and I'm out there working weekly.

Is there something I could do to market myself differently?

I live in a pretty conservative area and it's impossible to be out as nonbinary whilst performing, but I present androgynously and it stirs up conversation regardless when I leave a table. (that being said, I'm lucky to not have insults thrown at me in public too often). On the plus side, my gender identity keeps people guessing and it helps build intrigue within my magic.

Thanks in advance.

Om Darji (he/she/xe)
www.omdarji.com
Candidly,

Om Darji (he/she/xe)
Close.Up.Dave
View Profile
Inner circle
Behind you!
2956 Posts

Profile of Close.Up.Dave
Hi! Please don't take anything I'm going to say as insulting but rather an attempt to get you to see things from a different angle. So put on your thick skin and let's dive in:

First, you have a nice website, and I can tell people like you based on the promo you have. That's good. You're ahead of the game in terms of overall likeability.