The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Finger/stage manipulation :: Card Production holdout (1 Like) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
YoikYasi
View Profile
New user
LONGBRANCH, WA (1hr from seattle)
45 Posts

Profile of YoikYasi
I used the search function but did not come across a good thread about this.

Card production holdouts... or other ditch and steal gimmicks for card production.

I have been doing card productions for at least 30yrs now... the one trick always been up my sleeve... only it's never been up my sleeve before...

I recently started playing around with Jack miller style holdout but I really don't like that style of holdout. I want something that delivers a card either to the back of my hand or into my hand without having to use gravity and drop my arm to the side.

The best kind I can imagine working is the gambler style holdout... hopefully one with not so much noise as I hear they can be noisy...

I want to be able to use this for stage or parlor... to be able to deliver 5-10cards or single cards at once to my hand prepared for production.... behind the hand would be extra cool... and I prefer it to come out of my sleeve not like one of those behind the hand boxes... I find those clunky...

Can you think of a good gimmick for this one? Thank you I appreciate this forum a lot!
Anatole
View Profile
Inner circle
1913 Posts

Profile of Anatole
I don't know if this will help you or not.
Those types of holdouts aren't really useful for card productions in a magic act. They are generally designed for use by gamblers sitting at a table to secretly deliver cards to the front of the hand. So you can't use one for a stand up act.
Harry Anderson demonstrates a holdout at the 1:48 spot of this youtube video from an appearance with Martin Lewis on "The John Davidson Show"--andf you'll see why it has to be used while sitting:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M535fujwD-Y