The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Periods & styles of Magic :: Magic in the ancient world (6 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
HistFicAuthor
View Profile
New user
Maine, USA
6 Posts

Profile of HistFicAuthor
Hello and thanks for having me along. I am not a practioner, nor do I intend to be. I am a historical fiction author and looking for authentic ways to portray magician's skills set in the ancient era. In this particular case, it would be the 5th Century AD. The subject is widely travelled, across the Roman Empire and as far as India. I am hoping someone can help me come up with some ideas that he might have picked up to use in Britain to establish his reputation. Please understand, I don't need to know specifics or trade secrets. I just would like to talk to someone willing to help me frame what he does in a way that a professional magician would recognize. For average readers, I would like them to have a sense that there is tradecraft behind what the character does, not the kind of magic one would expect from a fantasy novel.
Any help is greatly appreciated. I will also be happy to credit you, if you like, when the novel is released. Thanks!
HistFicAuthor
View Profile
New user
Maine, USA
6 Posts

Profile of HistFicAuthor
Is no one able or interested in helping? Am I asking something against the rules?
Wravyn
View Profile
Inner circle
3529 Posts

Profile of Wravyn
One person that comes to mind that may be able to help point in a direction to help...
look for Café member, funsway.
HistFicAuthor
View Profile
New user
Maine, USA
6 Posts

Profile of HistFicAuthor
Quote:
On Dec 8, 2020, Wravyn wrote:
One person that comes to mind that may be able to help point in a direction to help...
look for Café member, funsway.

I will. Thank you so much!
Mr. Woolery
View Profile
Inner circle
Fairbanks, AK
2150 Posts

Profile of Mr. Woolery