The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: The little darlings :: Classic kids tricks (13 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
pancho247
View Profile
Regular user
184 Posts

Profile of pancho247
Hi guys. I’m looking at getting into performing kids magic, I’m just a hobbyist but my daughter is getting close to the age that I could do some tricks for her. I know nothin about kids magic, I’ve largely focussed on cards and a bit of mentalism.
I was hoping you could point me in the right direction of some classic kids tricks that always go down well. Or some good resources, books or dvds.
Many thanks
stempleton
View Profile
Inner circle
1443 Posts

Profile of stempleton
My current favorite author is Christopher T Magician (Christopher Barnes). His "Beyond Look, Don't See" has some great "tricks", but some great advice on popular kid entertainer techniques and other gems.
Tommy James is also one of my kid performer idols. Great products and terrific routines included.

There are other classic kid entertainers, like David Ginn and Sammy Smith, whose approaches may seem dated, but the core of their performances are gold.
imgic
View Profile
Inner circle
Moved back to Midwest to see
1349 Posts

Profile of imgic
"Imagination is more important than knowledge."
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
8357 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
Hola Pancho!

It aint the TRICK or the PROP! It'a the PERFORMER, and his/her PRESENTATION!

I'm a lot more dated than David Ginn and, Sammy Smith, combined. but, my Presentations, have ENTERTAINED kids (adults. too) for well over 50 years, from coast to coast, and, border to border!

If you're SERIOUS about ENTERTAINING young folks, READ BOOKS, by those who have ENTERTAINED young folks, since "forever". (like ME!)

Owning a Hippity Hop Rabbit will NOT "confer on you" the title of "CHILDREN'S ENTERTAINER"!
SNEAKY, UNDERHANDED, DEVIOUS,& SURREPTITIOUS ITINERANT MOUNTEBANK
MaveriQ