The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Let there be magic! :: I have an idea... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
big k
View Profile
New user
100 Posts

Profile of big k
I have an idea. But I don't want to say what it is or does becuase I don't want my item stolen. So what can I do to market the effect? And where can I get a patent? isn't a patent for so I can protect my self so no one else steals my idea?

thanks,

big k
Blitzen
View Profile
Regular user
167 Posts

Profile of Blitzen
A patent is the best way of protecting an idea. Some may say that copyrighting it is the way to go, but they're wrong. I'm a patent attorney. Patent prosecution can be done by an individual for $400-$1000, patent prosecution through a patent attorney will start at $4000 and go up from there. It can be done by an individual...I've yet to hear of a patent prosecuted by an individual that made money. There are legal subilties in drafting a patent that non-patent attorneys simply won't grasp. It can be done however, if you're willing to read the manual of patent examining procedure (available for download at uspto.gov) and convince yourself that you're up on the manual as well as the Festo progeny.
It takes a whole other day long examination to become a patent attorney and the exam is only offered to those with a hard science background. In other words, the lawyer down the street is almost certainly not qualified to help you.
If you're serious about obtaining a patent you can email me directly and we'll talk.
big k
View Profile
New user
100 Posts

Profile of big k
See the thing is I have a magic idea. But I don't want to get it stolen. So you say I have to get a patent so no one steals my idea? But man thosound bucks! that's a lot of money, I'm not sure if I will even make that much if I even martet the effect I thought of. (but ya never no)

big k
Blitzen
View Profile
Regular user
167 Posts