The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Lights...camera...action! :: I need tips for street magic (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
DarkSmaug
View Profile
New user
66 Posts

Profile of DarkSmaug
A friend and I would like to produce a street magic video at a mall. I've never done anything like this before, and I was hoping to get some tips:
  1. How do you approach a stranger with a trick?
  2. What do you do with a heckler in the crowd?
  3. How do you end it?
Oz Fan
View Profile
Loyal user
277 Posts

Profile of Oz Fan
Just do what Blaine does, go up to a stranger and ask if they would like to see something. You will not always have a positive response, but if you're doing a trick with cards just let the cards be visible to the spectator and they'll most likely say sure.
Blake S.
James F
View Profile
Inner circle
Atlanta
1096 Posts

Profile of James F
  1. I personally would just walk up to them with a deck in hand and ask them if they want to see something
  2. Don't show that part of the tape Smile
  3. Just say something like thanks for your time
James
ABlair36
View Profile
Loyal user
Toronto
234 Posts

Profile of ABlair36
You need to have them sign something or have them clearly say on tape that it is OK to use them in your video. Also check out the laws in your city. It might be illegal if you don't follow special procedure.
Dave V
View Profile
Inner circle
Las Vegas, NV
4824 Posts

Profile of Dave V
You can also try posting this in the "Street Magic" forum instead of here. You might get some more responses.
No trees were killed in the making of this message, but a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
chrisrkline
View Profile
Special user
Little Rock
965 Posts

Profile of chrisrkline