The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Lights...camera...action! :: Thumper in a TV studio (1 Like) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
Matti Kaki
View Profile
New user
Finland - - I.B.M. Finnish Magicians Assn
84 Posts

Profile of Matti Kaki
Hello from Finland. I am a Senior Electronic Maintenance Engineer having serviced TV-studios for 25 yrs. I'm also a Radio Technician and have been working in Finnish Telecommunication Radio Laboratory. Moreover I am Radio Amateur so I have quite much experience about radio transmitters.

It looks that Thumpers can make interferences with TV-studio equipments like wireless mics. What kind of problems have you had? There are not many free frequencies which you can use without license worldwide. Many countries have strict regulations as we have here in Finland.

Also I've seen thumpers with a whip antenna which looks odd to me as it is not very handy, is not very sturdy and shows that these are probably made cheaply as the real professional transmitters are more "sealed". Also there should be a good coding to prevent accidental triggerings. In matter of fact, If you don't tell anybody, I can reveal that I've been using a cheap wireless doorbell, which is very reliable due to well integrated structure. =)
Matti Kaki
View Profile
New user
Finland - - I.B.M. Finnish Magicians Assn
84 Posts

Profile of Matti Kaki
Okey. No single reply. Actually I'm not surprised because cheap toy transmitters (fart pillows etc.)
use very simple radio technique and do not have any bad frequencies or modulation which could affect
audio or video equipments. Cell Phone is much worse because the signalling is really challenging which
you can easily hear if you put the phone near audio amplifier, TV or radio. If you are worrying about
possible interference to let's say wireless mics, you can test the radio transmitter with portable