The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: New to magic? :: Teaching Aids (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
Sp0oky
View Profile
New user
7 Posts

Profile of Sp0oky
Smile Hello all, ok here’s my first question, I am a budding card manipulator and have recently got my hands on a copy of Expert at the Card Table (in E-Book format... bought and paid for) and I am having trouble getting anything out of this book as the drawings are pretty lame and the instructions are quite advanced.

Does anyone else have any suggestions on what books or videos I should be looking at? (I am new to cards but not new to sleights, keeping in mind I have long fingers and kinda thin hands)

Any suggestions will be appreciated.
Chris Becker
View Profile
Veteran user
New York, NY
371 Posts

Profile of Chris Becker
Spooky:

The most complete, most comprehensive, most useful and almost perfect source for card sleights at the table is - IN MY EYES Smile - Daryl’s Encyclopedia of Card Sleights. The series comprises eight video tapes (or DVDs), at 35 USD each and can be ordered at Daryl’s homepage. http://www.foolerdoolers.com

This is my very private advice and not an official ad ... although it may look like one)

Alan Ackerman (Advanced Card Control) is an alternative but - like David Roth on coins - he’s extremely boring and not as talented a teacher as Daryl.

As for books you could try finding Roberto Giobbi’s "Große Kartenschule" in English (should sound like "Great School of Card Magic" or something like this).

Concerning card magic on stage/ card manipulation, without a doubt, Jeff McBride’s three video tapes are the very best choice.

Hope this helps,

Chris
- - -
<BR>Cards don't cheat people. People cheat people.
Scott F. Guinn
View Profile
Inner circle
"Great Scott!" aka "Palms of Putty" & "Poof Daddy G"
6586 Posts

Profile of Scott F. Guinn