The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: The Association of Family and Kidshow Performers :: Please Help, routine for Kindergarten children? (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
sychou
View Profile
Veteran user
314 Posts

Profile of sychou
Hi,I was invited to performe at a Kindergarten for children.
My background is a closeup magician and a mentalist. I have performed for elementary school children before with great success,
but never perform for Kindergarten age children. Not sure what kind of effect will they understand and enjoy?
Many thanks if some fellow magician could give me advice.
Danny Kazam
View Profile
Inner circle
1516 Posts

Profile of Danny Kazam
I start off with using the silks and crystal tube routine (based on Silly Billy's routine but customized a bit. Kids love it. I follow up with Daryl's acrobatic knot with Christopher T. Magicians routine about good magic words and bad magic words. I then perform a jumbo coloring book routine with two helpers (based on Danny Orlean's routine, but customized to suit my performance style and adding my own gags to it as well) I then perform Chico, but once again I have changed the routine a little. Chico has become one of my most requested routines. The children go banana's over him.

I keep the children involved at all times, interacting with them, making them laugh and keeping any adults involved as well. This is a 30 minute show, but I have also performed 45 minute shows for kindergarden children. I just finished performing 3 kindergarten shows yesterday based on my 30 minute show. In my 45 minute show I open up with a do as I do dance routine with a helper with a torn and restored napkin trick that results with a mouthcoil ending.
Keep your dreams alive. Understand to achieve anything requires faith and belief in yourself, vision, hard work, determination, and dedication. Remember all things are possible for those who believe.
wally