The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Our new arrivals :: A brief introduction (and mini-bio) (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
MentalMidget
View Profile
New user
52 Posts

Profile of MentalMidget
My name's Brian and I'm quite happy to be 'here'.

First and foremost, I'm a performer -- I've been a classical violinist for 16 years and I've dabbled in magic for nearly that long.

Professionally, I work as a public speaking & debate coach for college and high schools as I get through law school...and it was that work that brought my interest for magic off the back burner. Many illusionists & mentalists attribute certain effects to an enhanced ability to read people and/or their body language. Though I later learned that 98% of that was total 'embellishment', it piqued my interest. Competitive speech & debate environments often require judges to remain silent -- after studying more 'legitimate' (read: underwhelming) body language courses, it makes a mentalist's skills look like the holy grail. Mentalism brought some wonder back to my perspective on this branch of performing arts.

As I mentioned already, once I pushed past the facade of showmanship, I was left with dazzling new tools to engage my students and audiences.

Having relied on music gigs for extra cash, I've already got years of country club, restaurant, and street performance under my belt. However, mentalism and magic have completely changed that for me. Music has largely just been an outlet for performance where I happened to have a practiced skill... but it was always missing something when it came to audience participation/interaction. Mentalism has allowed me to merge my love of performance with genuine, personal connections in a truly beautiful way.

With that rant at an end....
Thanks for letting me benefit from this community - I hope I'll be able to offer something in return.
saysold1
View Profile
Eternal Order