The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: The Association of Family and Kidshow Performers :: Are card tricks okay for kids? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
magicman344
View Profile
New user
85 Posts

Profile of magicman344
I'm new to performing shows for children and I was wondering, are children able to understand cards well enough for me to perform card tricks? I know that it would depend of the age level, but at what age are children able to understand cards and card magic? And if I perform card magic, would I need to get rid of my poker sized decks and use "Jumbo" decks? any advice would be appreciated.Smile
Peter Cuddihy
View Profile
Veteran user
Peter S. Cuddihy
369 Posts

Profile of Peter Cuddihy
It all depends on the age of the kids you will be entertaining and the type of card tricks you are considering doing.

Even most adults tire of card tricks if you do more than a few in one sitting.

As a magician who enjoys and appreciates good card magic, even I don't want to see more than two or three card effects in a performance - no matter how good they are.

With kids, I wouldn't do more than a couple of card tricks and I probably wouldn't do any for kids younger than ten years of age.

But, that's me.

There are many differences of opinion on this.

Something like the McCombical Deck if done well can have a strong impact on a group of ten year olds because in the end the magician is the one who is fooled.

That type of effect fits in with the "magician in trouble" theme.

David Ginn does the "Comedy Card on Back" as well as another effect in which a selected card is shot out of the deck by the spectator who points his pointer finger at the deck as if he is holding a gun. When the card flutters to the floor, it is seen to have a bullet hole in it surrounded by a burn mark.

There are many possibilities of entertaining children with playing cards.