The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Food for thought :: Being me ... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
Chris Becker
View Profile
Veteran user
New York, NY
371 Posts

Profile of Chris Becker
Hey there,

I recently noticed I'm about to find my true magical self... meaning the type of magician I want to be. However, I sometimes find it difficult to really be me during a performance, especially when there's a lot of unforeseen audience interaction.

I worked in a restaurant yesterday ... two hours of table-hopping magic. It was a rather lower-class place (50 $ of tips in two hours...): very earthy, sometimes rude, definitely simple-minded audience. It wasn't difficult to connect to them or impress them, the magic was fine. But I could not live out my truest self as a performer, which is - may I say - a more sophisticated, elegant type and I'm quite unhappy with this.

Will I learn this in time or should I skip these places instaed and only perform at more classy establishments? I really want to be a good magician but definitely fell short of my own expectations here.
- - -
<BR>Cards don't cheat people. People cheat people.
Mike Robbins
View Profile
Elite user
Anchorage, Alaska
447 Posts

Profile of Mike Robbins
Hi, Christof.

I would think that a lot of this depends on your situation. Certainly, if your goal is to perform in higher class venues then you would try to get more of them.

Developing a character is an interesting thing. The character should stay true to himself/herself, but it doesn't mean the character would react the same way in different situations.

Think of yourself for instance. Would Christof act the same way in a 10 star restaurant, perhaps with a charming date than he would in a crowded bar with his friends out just to have a good time?