The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Tricky business :: Fund-raiser ideas (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
Ed_Millis
View Profile
Inner circle
Yuma, AZ
2292 Posts

Profile of Ed_Millis
I'm new to the business side of this. I have a good show - enough material, in fact, that I could do two shows about an hour each without repeating myself. My intended target is family gatherings, birthday parties, and other events (clubs, schools, etc) for kids grades 1-6 and the families that own them.

Getting the name out there, though, is slow going at first. Yah, this is normal, so I'm not griping. (I'd really hoped to kick it off with a few public shows, but neither turned up much in the way of contact. The first, I just didn't know how to milk it properly. The second, everyone depended on someone else to advertise - including me!)

So I'm turning over ways to get myself out there in front of people. And one of the thoughts was to offer my services to groups as a fund raiser. I've contacted someone with a bit of experience here, and I just bought Jim Snack's Ice Cream Social kit. Haven't had time yet to dive into all that info.

As well, I've been think about the following, and I wonder what y'all think. The primary focus is to get myself in front of people who will see me perform, and do so in a way that has good feelings attached.

-- Offer a show as an item at a charity auction
-- Offer a show to a charity as an eBay auciton item
-- Perform at a group or charity's fund-raising event as a crowd draw

With each event would be notices to the local media outlets (from me in the name of the group or charity) about the auction or event, approval for BOR and marketing, and a portion of the proceeds.

Am I on the right track? Or going somewhere I don't want to be?

Ed
Jim Snack
View Profile
Inner circle
1338 Posts

Profile of Jim Snack
Hi Ed,

A couple of thoughts: