The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Lights...camera...action! :: Poll (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
 Go to page [Previous]  1~2
kuffs
View Profile
Special user
791 Posts

Profile of kuffs
In my humble opinion, magic is the art of creating an illusion in the mind of the person that looks at it, the way we did it is not very important...

Like Mr. Robbins said, to depend what are the goal to achieve...

Humbly...

Kuffs
Gambit242
View Profile
New user
Monroe, La
68 Posts

Profile of Gambit242
If someone wants to see "Camera Tricks" then they will go to see Star Wars.. ;->

When seeing a magician perform, one of my favorite things is knowing that the magician is skilled enough to "pull it off".... Camera Tricks are meant for movies..

My 2cents.
Gambit242
Emily Belleranti
View Profile
Veteran user
Tucson, Arizona
349 Posts

Profile of Emily Belleranti
For the time being I am an amateur and know almost nothing about performing magic on TV, so my opinion may not mean much, but I would still like to comment.

I know I wouldn't use blatant camera tricks to produce an effect that obviously couldn't be done live, but I don't think I'd have a problem with using the advantages of camera editing, to a certain extent. I realize that the way a layperson perceives Blaine's performances is greatly affected by the opportunities camera editing can provide. But I don't think it would be fair to go all out of proportion and say he was "cheating" by taking advantage of the nature of his performance.

I've done some reading about the early days of magic on TV with Mark Wilson and others. Those pioneers of magic on television felt it was necessary for the people watching at home to realize that they would see the exact same thing if they were there watching the performance live. They worked hard to sell this important fact to audiences.