The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Dvd, Video tape, Audio tape & Compact discs. :: Bill Abbott Performs Magic for Kids - deluxe edition (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
Mr. Woolery
View Profile
Inner circle
Fairbanks, AK
2150 Posts

Profile of Mr. Woolery
I did a search and didn't turn up any reviews of this DVD in the last year or so, and thought it worth sharing. If there are other reviews already, I'm sorry, but I think it is worth bringing this one up anyway. Long review follows.

Okay, here’s where I’m coming from. I’m new to magic, having only performed for classrooms at my kids’ school during snack times about 9 or 10 different times. The response has me wanting to become a kids’ magician (of which there are currently none in my town). I’ve purchased several books, DVDs and tricks and had a varying degree of success and pleasure learning from each.

I recently purchased Bill Abbott’s set of 2 DVDs hoping to find some good ideas to incorporate into a kids’ routine. I was very pleased and count this as my absolute best DVD purchase so far. I’ll break down my impressions of both DVDs separately.

Close Up:
Mostly cards, with a spongeball routine and a flash paper/ashes in hand routine and a fairly good use of the Buddha Money Papers. The down side of this disk is the production quality. The performance segments were shot live in a restaurant and it looks like a cheap home video camera was used. Understanding that, it does provide a view of what it is like to actually perform the effects for kids who are not the magician’s nephews and looking to give props to Uncle Bill. So, the performance segments were low quality filming (though good performing). The explanation segments are rather amateurishly edited (my degree is in broadcast journalism), but the content is very clear. Sleights are shown from several angles, both slow and up to speed.