The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: The workshop :: Maximum Thickness of Saber Saw Cut (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
ClintonMagus
View Profile
Inner circle
Southwestern Southeast
3997 Posts

Profile of ClintonMagus
Okay, I've been woodworking for almost forty years, and there's something I haven't figured out - how thick a vertical cut can you successfully make using a saber saw without it "wandering" off vertical? I need to cut two identical openings in two sheets of ½" plywood. Ideally, I want to fasten the two pieces face-to-face so the openings will be identical, but my saber saw blade tends to wander from vertical when the stock is this thick.

I've tried both fine-tooth blades and coarse-tooth blades,fast and slow but I always seem to have the same problem.

Can this be done, or do I need to:

1. cut the pieces separately, or
2. use a router to cut them together?
Things are more like they are today than they've ever been before...
jay leslie
View Profile
V.I.P.
Southern California
9500 Posts

Profile of jay leslie
A jack saw works best on multiple (for cutting stair steps)

Or the largest, thickest blade you can get your hands on. The tolerance of the tool is actually more important then the blade. If you go at a snails pace you can use a flimsy blade. Very expensive jig saws work, cheap ones, never do.

I'm assuming this will be a reciprocating saw as opposed to a jig saw. Both have a habit of veering off coarse.

if the holes have a straight edge I would use a circular saw and clean up the last few inches with the saber

All in all, a Japanese saw might even be better because you can hold it on the back side. Or you can make a metal guide so the saw must take the course you desire.

Your last idea, a router with a guide.... that would be optimal. You can cut a hundred pieces and they'll all be the same.