The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Do you see what I see? :: Marcel Marceau 1923 - 2007 :: TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
Silvertongue
View Profile
Inner circle
One day I will die leaving behind
2426 Posts

Profile of Silvertongue
Remembering one of the greats

http://www.mime.info/encyclopedia/marceau-video.html

R.I.P.
For as long as space exists,
And living beings remain in cyclic existence,
For that long, may I too remain,
to dispel the sufferings of the world.
-Shantideva

Engaging in the Conduct of a Bodhisattva
harris
View Profile
Inner circle
Harris Deutsch
8815 Posts

Profile of harris
Yes I heard about it yesterday.

In my earlier days I studied mime. I just saw a video of him and noticed his hands. What a great magician he was in creating illusions without props.

Does anyone know if he ever did magic such as with coins?

Harris deutsch
Harris Deutsch aka dr laugh
drlaugh4u@gmail.com
music, magic and marvelous toys
http://magician.org/member/drlaugh4u
MR2Guy
View Profile
Regular user
Nashville
179 Posts

Profile of MR2Guy
He will be missed.

Marcel Marceau, the wiry French mime who did much to revive the art of pantomime, performing as Bip, his chalk-faced character in a stovepipe hat adorned with a red flower, died Saturday. He was 84 years old and lived in France.

His death was announced on French radio by Marceau's former assistant, Emmanuel Vacca.
Since 1945, when he began his silent career, Marceau performed an average of 200 shows a year, most of them abroad, where he was more highly praised than in his native France. His repertory changed little over the decades, but he played to full houses in the United States, Germany and other European countries, Australia and Japan, where he was deemed "a national treasure."