The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Polly wants a cracker... :: Doves with diseases? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
close_up_act
View Profile
Special user
Idaho Falls
774 Posts

Profile of close_up_act
I went to several pet shops/stores looking fo doves and the say " we don't carry any doves because there cousins "pigeons" carry to many diseases....is this true? and where can I buy them and do you have to give any shots? or medicine.....i'm new to the whole "bird world of magic"...needing help
J Rodriguez
RJE
View Profile
Inner circle
1848 Posts

Profile of RJE
If you can tell us where about you live, then someone might be able to recommend a breeder in your area.

Doves getting diseases is not normally a concern with dove workers. Two of the most common concerns are a potentially lethal lung disease you can catch and the noise they make.

I am not a vet, MD, or otherwise expert on disease. However, there is a "dander" that the birds give off. If you inhale too much of this it can be extremely harmful to you. Research proper housing for your doves from other threads here at the Café and other reliable sources.

Next, the natural cooing of the birds can get quite annoying to some rather quickly. Some say they can control it with light, yet I have had doves coo in total darkness. So, be prepared.

Also, remember that these are living creatures and need to be cared for on a daily basis. Water, food, cage cleaning etc.....needs a real commitment.

As to shots and medicines, I do not know of any that are needed. Some will put a vitamin supplement in either the food or water, some will not. We did have a dove recently develop a soft beak. We changed the feed and added a different calcium supplement and the problem has since rectified itself.