The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: The clothes we wear :: Do you roll your sleeves up? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
 Go to page [Previous]  1~2~3~4
Justin Style
View Profile
Inner circle
2010 Posts

Profile of Justin Style
Quote:
On 2007-05-10 12:37, Slappy wrote:

I feel as a performer, it is MY job to control the audience. If they want to think it’s up the sleeve, let them, who cares? [/quote]

This is audience control??
[/quote]

What can I say? It works for me. What I really mean is that I have to concentrate on the things that I can control. It's never a good idea to get into an argument with a heckler.

I don't know? I don't think there is really any right or wrong answer. I guess it's up to each individual performer.
Rich B.
View Profile
Special user
Philadelphia
632 Posts

Profile of Rich B.
Let me chime in here. I'm a part time pro and perform in restaurants, weddings ,black tie affairs, casual parties, and kid shows. I ALWAYS roll up my sleeves (shirt sleeves rolled very neatly over jacket sleeve). I actually like the look. It sets me apart from everyone else at the event.

As far as controlling the audience...that is EXACTLY why I choose to roll my sleeves. From the very start I'm eliminating one possible hiding place for objects. It has been said for centuries by laymen "its up your sleeve". In my opinion, why have them draw that conclusion even when you don't use this technique. I'm in total control, and perform with confidence... it is my show and I decide what direction we go in.