The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: The workshop :: Tarbell's "Mystery of the Dancing Girls" (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
dbearden
View Profile
Regular user
Oneonta, AL
102 Posts

Profile of dbearden
I am quite interested in building Tarbell's "Mystery of the Dancing Girls" (vol. 8, page 348). A little background.....I am a high school band director by trade, and have performed magic for over 20 years. I am interested in using this illusion to produce 8 to 12 of my dance line girls during a half time show next year (I plan ahead!). I believe this illusion would fit what I am looking for well, but my question: Has anyone out there ever built and used this illusion before? If so, how effective was it? Were there any problems/difficulties you encountered? I would like to get some feedback before I commit to building the box. Thanks!!
Spellbinder
View Profile
Inner circle
The Holy City of East Orange, NJ
6438 Posts

Profile of Spellbinder
I remember Jim Gerrish building this box back in the 1970's, when I was his assistant. He had hired six dancers specifically to use in this illusion, and then to dance between scenes in his touring illusion show. It was a huge, heavy prop that was hot and stuffy, and it didn't travel well. It was like hauling around a wardrobe (in face it doubled as our backstage wardrobe for the time we had it). When Jim came up with his Utility Cabinet paired with the Garden Gate Illusion (see his PVC Pipe Book #1 on my site) we had no more need for the big closet on wheels, as we called it. I think Jim still has it in his cellar, using it as a wardrobe for old costumes in storage.