The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Notes from a Designer's Logbook - by George Ledo :: Pet peeves (4 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
George Ledo
View Profile
Magic Café Columnist
SF Bay Area
3044 Posts

Profile of George Ledo
When I came up with the idea for this column last year, I decided I was going to focus on theater and design (which is what I do for a living), and discuss how these fields can apply to magic. However, inspired by several recent threads and by Bill Palmer’s “Pet peeves” column, this morning I decided to change tacks a bit and, just for fun, list some of the things that often make me ask out loud, “What is wrong with this picture?”

I’m going to try very hard to not copy any of Bill’s items Smile so as not to get accused of plagiarism. Smile However, since Bill is apparently still working on his own list, it’s possible that we will post similar items. Smile If that happens, all I can say is that galaxy-class brilliant minds occasionally agree with each other… Smile

Oh, man, pass the hip waders and VapoRub, please… it’s getting deep here...

Anyway, here’s my list, in no particular order:

1. Packet tricks, where the performer pulls out a few cards, proceeds to do a miracle, puts the cards away, and then pulls out another few cards. If someone insists on unleashing these tricks on me, I wish they would put the packet on top of a regular deck ahead of time, then pull out the entire deck and count off the cards required. This way, I can at least pretend to believe that he took the cards off a regular deck instead of out of a little plastic envelope with the name of the trick printed on it.