The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: We double dare you! :: Aerial fishing (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
MagicBrent
View Profile
Inner circle
2582 Posts

Profile of MagicBrent
Hey Guys. I'm a therapist and do speeches on boundary setting with people. I don't own aerial fishing but I was considering buying it but the description appears to involve using a cigarette. I was wanting to talk about setting boundaries and how people with say something to try to get us to "take the bait" and then have the fish appear at the end of the rod. Would this be a good application of this trick or do you have other ideas. Thanks!
Jonathan Townsend
View Profile
Eternal Order
Ossining, NY
27305 Posts

Profile of Jonathan Townsend
As I recall the item it involves a fishing pole, a net and a large fishbowl prop.

A cigarette seems incongruous in this context.
...to all the coins I've dropped here
Vandy Grift
View Profile
Inner circle
Milwaukee
3504 Posts

Profile of Vandy Grift
Quote:
On 2006-07-09 22:07, Jonathan Townsend wrote:

A cigarette seems incongruous in this context.

It sure does. Yet here is the description;

The magician walks onto the stage carrying a large goblet of water and places it on his table. He takes a telescopic pointer pen from his pocket, extends it to full length and attaches a piece of string to the end, forming a makeshift fishing rod. A cigarette is borrowed for the "bait" and is broken into three pieces. One of the pieces is fixed to the end of the string. The line is cast forward and a goldfish appears on the end of the bait. The fish is detached and dropped into the goblet of water, where it swims about in lively fashion!

This version is supposed to be impromtu. Using the telescoping pointer as a fishing rod etc. But the cigarette does seem out of place to me. Brent, your idea sounds good, but I don't know too much about this particular effect.