The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Notes from a Designer's Logbook - by George Ledo :: Magic as art: what the heck is art? (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
George Ledo
View Profile
Magic Café Columnist
SF Bay Area
3044 Posts

Profile of George Ledo
Oh my, now I’m really going to tap dance on month-old, un-refrigerated raw eggs... Smile

I’ve been working on a follow-up to my piece on magic as theater, which I’m going to title Magic as Theater II: Spectacle, but in the meantime I thought it would be interesting (in a death-wish sort of way) to look at this thing called art and see what it really is and what it has to do with magic. As usual, since my background is theater and design, I’m going to focus on art from the viewpoint of that world instead of from the viewpoint of a magician.

Art has been defined, discussed, argued, and otherwise examined by lots and lots of scholars and critics over the centuries. So, for me to even attempt to summarize all that material here in a few paragraphs fits into the category of galaxy-class presumptuousness. Therefore, I’ll cut it down to solar-system-class presumptuousness and focus on only one type of art, one with which we are all familiar: paintings.

A painting (say a portrait, or a still life, or a landscape) that’s considered a work of art has several characteristics that define it as such. One of these characteristics is that it stands on its own. It’s not a part of something else, and it doesn’t support another work. It’s complete in and of itself.

Can it support another work, or be part of it? Of course. Bill Palmer brought this up a few weeks ago when he mentioned Maxfield Parrish’s work for Mazda Edison. The same holds true for Norman Rockwell’s work for the Saturday Evening Post. But if we take any of those paintings out of their commercial context, they can still stand on their own.