The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: A tangled web we weave... :: Magic Shop -vs-Web Shop (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
 Go to page [Previous]  1~2
Stephen Long
View Profile
Inner circle
1481 Posts

Profile of Stephen Long
The only reason I am glad for the internet sites is because I am a student. If there was a magic dealer anywhere locally I would starve. I would spend all my money on magic tricks and forget about mankinds basic need for food. That would be a bad thing, for me anyway.

(I live in England but I am currently spending a year here in the States. That will help you understand this next bit.)

When I was younger (that makes me feel so old) we always used to take trips to Plymouth. I know this was initially what sparked my interest in magic, for somewhere on the backstreets of Plymouth was a small magic shop. I don’t remember if they sold anything advanced - being so young I was only shown the simple stuff.

The man behind the counter was the first person to show me a Svengali deck. At the age of just 4, I thought he was a god of some sort. He then offered to SELL ME THIS MIRACLE! Can you imgine my response?

My mother treated me to it there and then.
For awhile I was the happiest child alive.
The guy took me behind the counter (just so my mother couldn’t see) and showed me exactly how it was done. I could perform the trick but still didn’t understand how it worked.

The next year it was the stripper deck,
and so on, until the shop went out of business. I went through a dry spell of about eight years where I didn’t pick up so much as the Ace of Spades, let alone the whole deck.

I eventually got back into it again, but the point is, I would probably never have started doing magic if it weren’t for that man and his shop somewhere on the backstreets of Plymouth.

The Internet is big, and growing bigger.
So, what comes next? virtual magicians?