The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Knots and loops :: Fiber optics gravity slide (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
jolyonjenkins
View Profile
Inner circle
United Kingdom
1183 Posts

Profile of jolyonjenkins
I'm having fun with Fiber Optics but can't get the sliding move down - the one where you slide the "ends" down by gravity. The piece either goes too fast or too slow, or falls off altogether. I think because I can't quite predict the speed, I'm not good at catching it. (Also, I do have some doubts about that part of the routine: it seems a bit transparent)

I'm using quarter inch cotton rope with the nylon core removed. It's nice and soft and flexible but maybe has gone a bit hairy from lots of practice. Would it make a huge difference if I bought the rope Sanders recommends? Or do I just need to put in more hours?
Jolyon Jenkins
h_A_Z
View Profile
Special user
Ireland/Msia
701 Posts

Profile of h_A_Z
I kinda gave up with this move. It is not consistent for me ( I didn't really put much work on it anyway ). But IMHO this move kinda give away the "how did he do that" out of the routine. For that, I have left this move out in my routine. Works fine for me Smile
jolyonjenkins
View Profile
Inner circle
United Kingdom
1183 Posts

Profile of jolyonjenkins
Yes, it's strange that he makes a big deal about not showing the whole small piece elsewhere but puts it on display quite openly early in the routine.

I think this may be one of those routines which seems fairly simple at first sight but where you have to do it *really* well to give the appearance of magic.
Jolyon Jenkins
Al Angello
View Profile
Eternal Order
Collegeville, Pa. USA
11045 Posts

Profile of Al Angello