The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Magic...at a moment's notice! :: What is your simplest, most effective close up trick? (11 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
 Go to page 1~2~3~4~5~6~7 [Next]
brad12d3
View Profile
Special user
526 Posts

Profile of brad12d3
I am not a professional but I do enjoy dabbling in a little magic now and again. I am aware that it is a subtle and difficult art to master. However, I have been looking for a handful of easy to do impromptu tricks. I have been doing some research and have just ordered Slomotion and was considering purchasing Shift. However, a fork is not always something that makes sense to just have with you. It would be a nice trick for dinner guest I guess..

I was curious what gimmicks you guys have come across that you found to be well crafted, easy to use, self contained tricks that someone who isn't the best at sleight of hand could perform at a moments notice. Don't let the price prevent you from giving a recommendation. I don't mind splurging on something that I could use to entertain friends over and over. Smile
Dr. JK
View Profile
Inner circle
Sandusky, OH
1191 Posts

Profile of Dr. JK
There are varying definitions of "impromptu," but by my definition, anything that uses a true gimmick (and not just an improvisational one) isn't really impromptu. Are you just looking for things that can appear like there was no preparation? Because like you said, if you have to carry a fork around, that looks neither natural nor magical.

I'd browse the "New to Magic" thread for some good suggestions:

My recommendation is that you learn some simple sleight of hand. You say you're not the best at sleight of hand, but is that because of a physical limitation or because you just haven't found the time to become better? Not trying to be harsh, just trying to figure out what might work for you to help you entertain your friends.