The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Table hoppers & party strollers :: Routining and Evaluation (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
Gerald Deutsch
View Profile
Special user
526 Posts

Profile of Gerald Deutsch
General

I am an not a professional magician – that is, I never charge when I perform but I often perform without charge at charitable functions. When I do it’s usually walk around magic at a cocktail party before dinner.

I find this challenging because you have to walk up to people that may be engaged in conversation and interrupt and get them to be interested in seeing what you are going to present. Quickly!

I find the “introduction” most important. As a result I generally start with a quick effect with a coin – a coin I have. I don’t want to waste time asking someone for a coin. And I generally start with a “Perverse Magic” effect – that is “look what happens and I don’t understand why—”

Routining

I think it is important to know what effects I will be doing and in what order.

I prepare a sheet listing various effects I do – mostly with coins and cards and then list them on a sheet of paper. Then I make columns – see Roman numbers below (I-III)

Date: I II III

Effect number 1 1
Effect number 2 2
Effect number 3 1
Effect number 4 1
Effect number 5 2
Effect number 6 3
Effect number 7
Effect number 8 2
Effect number 9 3

I would do routine I for the first group of people and routine II or III for the next group etc. As I said, the first effect is usually a coin effect (again, using my coins as I don’t want to waste time borrowing a coin for my first effect) and then if they are interested I would go on to one or two card effects.

My thoughts I doing this routining is (i) one effect follows another logically and (ii) I am never ‘on too long” and stop with them wanting more (I hope).

Evaluation