The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Going for the 'Gold' :: Non Magic Talent Quest (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
icentertainment
View Profile
Inner circle
1429 Posts

Profile of icentertainment
Hi my name is David Welzman

Recently I have entered a Talent Quest- my first ever
it's not that I'm new to magic I've just never entered one before

The Problem: Most of the competition are singers
and the three judges are singers or ex singers

My Question
Does anyone have any suggestions or tips in performing at these "open" talen Quest

(first prize is a wopping $15,000 so I'll take any advixce you can give)

At this point I have made it to the semi finals

Thank you in advance

Dave
paulajayne
View Profile
Inner circle
London England
1160 Posts

Profile of paulajayne
David

How long is the set and what do you plan to perform?

Paula
Paula Jay - Magic to Remember -
---------------------------------
I once wrote a book on elephants, I think paper would have been better.
----
icentertainment
View Profile
Inner circle
1429 Posts

YAY!!!!! thanks paula

Approx 15 minutes (3 songs)of performance on stage.
In the pre finals I performed.

Show Name: Cocktails & Card Tricks.

Opener (4 minutes)a set piece to music including
Dazzling Bottle Juggling, Card manips with diminishing cards ending
The bottle is a Galliano which ends up as the base of my table. I also do some comedy bits inbetween the bottle & the cards. music= Yello- on the run (edited)

Phase 2 7 minutes- Audience participation
More comedy interactions with a girl then a guy. using airborn and some do as I do with drinks.
Then a bill to impossible location (Bill in can) with a gambling theme of 3 "can" monte.
Music in background- (yello "oh yeah"edited)

Finish of with the Vanishing Banadana trick followed by chaser music)Vanishing banadana is the marketed effect with the womens voice giving instructions.