The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: New to magic? :: Dress rehearsal (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
rsylvester
View Profile
Loyal user
Trying to learn to BP a duck in
269 Posts

Profile of rsylvester
Later tonight, I'm doing the first show for a larger audience in about three decades. Sure I've been doing magic for family and friends. Tonight, I'm MC at the variety show at our church, which will be a fundraiser for my two daughters' mission trips. I'm doing a little magic as part of it. I've been practicing for weeks and ran through my effects tonight for my wife and 11yo.

I'm a journalist my day. My wife is an attorney who did her undergrad in drama. She gave me some great tips. The best: slow down. This was advice in another topic on this forum. I was doing the effects well. My daughter said it looked like magic. But I was talking too fast. My wife said, let the magic speak for itself. Don't concentrate so much on patter. Just let the magic happen. Don't be so concerned with what to say, because then you're sounding like you're talking to fill space. Then that becomes the show. You want people concentrating on the magic.

You know, I speak professionally. I'm a consultant who travels all over the country teaching other people about how I do my job. But when I pick up magic, I tend to get a little goofy. So tonight, I'm going to try to remember to relax, slow down and let the magic work.

Wish me luck.
Godzilla
View Profile
Inner circle
Tied & Untied Witches on
5316 Posts

Profile of Godzilla
Good luck ! Let us know how it went.
"If you watch Godzilla backwards, it's about a big ass lizard who helps rebuild a half burnt-down city, then moonwalks back into the ocean"
Wes65
View Profile
Inner circle
I've said very little in
1219 Posts

Profile of Wes65
Good luck. Let us know how it goes.
Wes
Bob Sanders
View Profile
1945 - 2024
Magic Valley Ranch, Clanton, Alabama
20504 Posts