The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: New to magic? :: First birthday show (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
mddkf
View Profile
New user
24 Posts

Profile of mddkf
Well I survived my first show and wanted to tell everyone about it. I’m an amateur/hobbyist and have been doing magic for family and friends for the last year. My friends 14 year old asked if I would do some tricks for his friends at his birthday. I showed up expecting 6 or 7 kids and there were close to 20. I did Fading coin, trick which cannot be explained, out of this world, sponge balls, Kurotsuke, name a card from stack, and ended with invisible deck.

What I learned. Teens are a very hard audience. They showed very little reaction and one girl kept saying she didn’t get it. Part of the problem is I need to improve the clarity of my patter, but as I went from trick to trick and listened to the silence after each one I started to freak out. They all clapped at the end and the parent’s who were there swore up and down that the kids liked it and talked about it.

Anyway, I survived and hope for another chance to perform for them in the future. I’m amazed that people are actually able to this for a living.

Dan
Justin Style
View Profile
Inner circle
2010 Posts

Profile of Justin Style
Sounds like it went okay. I think you need to build your confidence, which will happen with more experience. I found the best way for me to relate to the audience, no matter whom, is just be myself. No shtick, no phony patter, no B.S. Talk to them in a true way, show interest in them, find out what's happening. By being true, they will accept you for you. THEN, they will buy your product.
If they don't have faith in you, they won't have faith in your product. Just be honest.