The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: APPealing or APPalling? :: Iphone mentalism (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
bobser
View Profile
Inner circle
4179 Posts

Profile of bobser
Hi guys,
I just looked at the latest effect where the guy thinks of a card and theres a dial up to hear a recorded voice naming said card.
It's lovely I guess, but I've been doing it for over 20 years or so now. My version has them calling a friend of mine who chats live to them, does a cold reading and then tells them their card. Of course it could also be the name of a loved one or anything else for that matter.
My point?
If you actually learn skills, in the above case for example with a playing card then you would use the cla--ic force then you have a gift you can use forever and in a hundred ways.
The handling, providing you learn the skill, is much better and you don't have that situation where everyone and their dog wants to know: "Where did you by that app?"
Any thoughts?

Bob
Bob Burns is the creator of The Swan.
Steve Suss
View Profile
Inner circle
1193 Posts

Profile of Steve Suss
Bob, I understand what you're trying to say but I think the effect above is so strong that it needs either a logical disconnect or a f*rce that will withstand challenge conditions. A good example of such a f*rce is Juan Tamariz doing his card silk. When I first saw him perform this I would never believe that he used a f*rce and I've been cla**ic F*rcing for years. Other than that I think people will logically suspect what happened and as Erdnase taught us that's almost as bad as people detecting what happened.

As far as I phone mentalism I'm not that familiar with most but my own gut feeling is to be careful that the effects don't look like what they are-mentalism by technology.

Steve
Maddened
View Profile
Loyal user
222 Posts

Profile of Maddened