The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Food for thought :: Beginner’s Ethics question (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
Mary B.
View Profile
Café Tech Advisor
Howard City, Michigan
626 Posts

Profile of Mary B.
As a beginner, I would very much like to hear some opinions from experienced magicians on this question. I purchased a Hot Rod (Dave Powell's Goldenrod) and just recieved it in the mail. The trick itself is pretty neat, and I think that kids would like it, but I don't really care much for the prop.

I'm quite good at making many different types of things, and I think I could make a prettier Hot Rod - not for sale, but for my own use. I personally don't have an ethical problem with this, but I'd like to hear some pros and cons from you folks who DO make magic props for sale. Would you consider it an infringement on your copyright?

There are a couple of other props that I think I could "improve" on, for my own use. My hands are small, and a little arthritic - I just think it might be easier to do some of the tricks I bought with props that fit my hands better. Smile

Always do right.This will gratify some people and astonish the rest. - Samuel Langhorne Clemens
Jeb Sherrill
View Profile
Inner circle
Elsewhere
1161 Posts

Profile of Jeb Sherrill
Oh, heavens yes. If you've already bought the trick then you can do anything you want. I often remake or improve on equipment to fit my act or style or whatever.

Sable

Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile
I don't believe in reincarnation, but I may have in another life.
Mary B.
View Profile
Café Tech Advisor
Howard City, Michigan
626 Posts

Profile of Mary B.
That's pretty much my take on it. Being completely ignorant of how most tricks work, and what the props look like, I'd have to buy the original in order to make one to fit me. I would anyway - I think it's the right thing to do.