The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: The workshop :: My diy items And copyright doubts (1 Like) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
Kleberdexter
View Profile
New user
Brazil
69 Posts

Profile of Kleberdexter
Hello how are you?
Im new to Magic And after some advices of a lot of friends here, I start to read more And take a break in constructing an buying props.
So In my first months in magic, I made some props. I started tô construct props because here in Brazil I cant find some things And sometimes I find the props but they are very expensive.
So I made a lot of props, so the last props are:
A production box;
A computer deck like prop;
A switchbox;
A silkcab,
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0By5Q6N......hSlBfaTA

My doubt is: are this item copyrighted? Can use this in my presentations?

Sorry if my doubt is too simple.
Thanks.
randirain
View Profile
Inner circle
Fort Worth, TX
1653 Posts

Profile of randirain
Most magic isn't copyrighted, because that would mean making the secret public, and because of the cost.
That doesn't mean others don't frown on copying.
But the stuff you have made is old enough to be considered public domain. Except the "computer deck like prop", I don't know what that is, so I can't say one way or the other, but the rest is old enough, and plenty of people have made their versions as well.

Randi
Kleberdexter
View Profile
New user
Brazil
69 Posts

Profile of Kleberdexter
Thanks for the reply Randi.
The computer deck I Think its developed by Del Ray.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=hy9XHtNWCFc

I ll do a vídeo of my prop working.
I know something about eletrônics And computer programming And I like props the mix the Magic And tecnology.
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
8357 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
Kleberdexter! Your ethics, regarding "copying", are excellent.

As you study TARBELL, you will begin to realize that the PRESENTATION is more important than the PROP!