The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: The workshop :: Education required (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
michealmachek
View Profile
New user
BC, Canada
25 Posts

Profile of michealmachek
Hello,

I've been doing magic since I was 5 years old, I graduated high school last year and am still trying to figure out what exactly it is I want to do! Of course I'd love to do magic full time, as it's always been my dream, but it will take time, which I'm willing to put it.

However, I have expenses, I have bills that need to be paid. Currently I work as a sales rep for a cellular company up here in Canada. It's awesome because I have a 'make your own schedule' allowing me time for performing too! However, I don't foresee it being a long term thing, maybe another year or two at most.

What I really want to do, it create and BUILD my own magic! I'm thinking along the lines of a carpenter, something that allows me to still make an income, not just through the construction of magic props, but cabinets and furniture. I'd love to spend my youth (currently I'm 19) learning a valuable skill that I can build on. I think learning the ropes of carpentry would be a good start, my ultimate goal would be to make world class magic apparatus.

MY QUESTION though, is.. what kind of education, or programs, or information am I going to NEED!? (my dad suggested doing a course on watch making, due to the smaller, intricate, pieces of magic. Maybe welding?) I'm young, so I have time, but I want to do this THE RIGHT WAY, and not waste my time fishing, only to find that I've been in a lake that doesn't have any fish.

So please, if anyone has any suggestions, or ideas. Or anyone who IS a builder who would be willing to help me out, or knows someone who would, it would mean the world to me!